

Hernando County Sheriff's Office

P.O. BOX 10070 - BROOKSVILLE, FL 34603-0070 FAX 352 796-0493 PHONE 352 754-6830

Media Release

From: Denise M. Moloney

Community/Media Relations Manager, 352-797-3609

Re: Deputy Injured During Traffic Stop

Date: August 7, 2018

On today's date at approximately 3:27 p.m., Deputy Tonya Shutt conducted a Traffic Stop on a grey GMC Sierra on McKethan Road, south of Cortez Boulevard, almost to the Pasco County Line.

Deputy Shutt approached the vehicle, on the driver's side, to speak with the driver and obtain a driver's license, registration, and proof of insurance. Almost immediately, at 3:28 p.m., the driver began to flee from the stop, dragging Deputy Shutt for a short time/short distance.

Deputy Shutt advised over the radio that the driver fled, southbound toward Pasco County, that she had been dragged by the suspect vehicle, and was in need of medical attention. Backup units and Fire Rescue were dispatched immediately.

With assistance from the Pasco Sheriff's Office, the vehicle and driver were located moments later at a location in Pasco County.

Deputy Shutt, 48, was transported to a local hospital with injuries that are considered non-life-threatening.

The driver, identified as **Megan Elaine Lloyd W/F DOB/11-28-1992** was placed under arrest in Pasco County. Lloyd is charged as follows:

- Fleeing to Elude
- Aggravated Battery on a LEO
- Resisting Arrest w/Violence
- Felony DWLSR.

The Office of Sheriff:

The Office of the Sheriff is established by the Florida Constitution. As a constitutional officer, the Sheriff has the exclusive authority to administer his or her agency and is responsible for preserving the peace throughout the entire county, carrying out the laws of the state, the orders of Florida courts, and the ordinances of the Board of County Commissioners. The Sheriff is the chief law enforcement and correctional officer of the county.

Sheriff Al Nienhuis was initially appointed as the Sheriff of Hernando County by the Governor in January of 2011. He was then elected by the people of Hernando County in 2012, and remains accountable to them.