

Hernando County Sheriff's Office

P.O. BOX 10070 - BROOKSVILLE, FL 34603-0070 FAX 352 796-0493 PHONE 352 754-6830

Media Release

From: Michael Terry

Community Relations Specialist, 352-797-3609

Re: 30 HCSO Jail Employees Receive American Correctional Association

Certifications

Date: January 18, 2018

The American Correctional Association has certified and re-certified 30 HCSO Detention Center employees, in their respective area(s) of expertise.

These certifications help raise the level of professionalism in the corrections field by advancing the overall knowledge level of practitioners. It helps to ensure that they are aware of the most current and innovative approaches. It promotes the capabilities of correctional professionals to the general public and enhances society's image of correctional personnel.

It also enables staff at all levels to become part of a nation-wide network of resources, ideas, opinions, skills, and people that can enhance the productivity, efficiency, and effectiveness of one's agency.

We'd like to congratulate the following employees on their achievement.

CCO - Certified Correctional Officer: Detention Deputy Maxine Bromfield, Detention Deputy Gerald Hovey, Detention Deputy Gary Wisgarda, Detention Deputy Michael Balish, Detention Deputy Jacqueline Mariano, Detention Deputy Justin Beetz, Detention Deputy Edward Nurse, Detention Deputy Jennifer Wynne and Detention Deputy Robert Johnston.

CCS - Certified Corrections Supervisor: Cpl. Javier DeJesus.

CCM - Certified Correction Manager: Cpl. Robert Damone, Sgt. Jose Pabon, Sgt. Steven Wegner, Sgt. Michael Moffit, Sgt. Brad Collito, Sgt. Julie Satre (Recertified) and Lt. James Johnston.

CCE - Certified Corrections Executive: Capt. Shaun Klucznik.

CCN - Certified Corrections Nurse: Heather Clasen, Deborah Robbins, Debra Dolby, Dawn Daleo-Hillman, Jacklynne Broome and Medical Director Kristine DeKany (Recertified).

CBHC-CO - Correctional Behavior Health Certification: Detention Deputy Krystal DeJesus, Detention Deputy Nagel Orta Sr., Detention Deputy Jamie Downey, Detention Deputy Heather Crawford and Lt. Teresa Stevens.

CBHC-BS - Behavioral Specialist: Vilma Cabrera and Tangela Copeland.

Certified Corrections Nurse Manager: Medical Director Kristine DeKany (Recertified).

The Office of Sheriff:

The Office of the Sheriff is established by the Florida Constitution. As a constitutional officer, the Sheriff has the exclusive authority to administer his or her agency and is responsible for preserving the peace throughout the entire county, carrying out the laws of the state, the orders of Florida courts, and the ordinances of the Board of County Commissioners. The Sheriff is the chief law enforcement and correctional officer of the county.

Sheriff Al Nienhuis was initially appointed as the Sheriff of Hernando County by the Governor in January of 2011. He was then elected by the people of Hernando County in 2012, and remains accountable to them.