

P.O. BOX 10070 – BROOKSVILLE, FL 34603-0070 FAX 352 796-0493 PHONE 352 754-6830

## Media Release

From:	Denise M. Moloney Community/Media Relations Manager, 352-797-3609
Re:	Armed Robbery - Marathon Gas Station - Jefferson Street
Date:	June 4, 2018

On 06-03-18, at approximately 10:45 p.m., Hernando County deputies were called to the Marathon Gas Station, located at 600 E. Jefferson Street in Brooksville, regarding an Armed Robbery.

Preliminary investigation revealed that a Hispanic male entered the store and proceeded to purchase an item. After the purchase, the male waited inside the store for all other customers to leave. Once the store was empty, the male then attempted to make another purchase.

When the cashier rang up the second sale, the male displayed a firearm and demanded all of the cash from the cash register.

The suspect, a Hispanic male with a heavy Spanish accent, was last seen wearing a blue shirt with "AERO 1987" on the front and unknown color/type pants.

The suspect is considered ARMED and DANGEROUS.

Video and/or still photos are forthcoming.

If you have any information on this case, please contact the Hernando County Sheriff's Office – 352-754-6830.

If you would like to remain anonymous – Please call Hernando County Crime Stoppers at 1– 866–990–TIPS (8477) or submit your tip via the internet at <u>http://www.hernandocountycrimestoppers.com</u>. You will remain anonymous and also be eligible for a reward up to \$1,000 cash!

## The Office of Sheriff:

The Office of the Sheriff is established by the Florida Constitution. As a constitutional officer, the Sheriff has the exclusive authority to administer his or her agency and is responsible for preserving the peace throughout the entire county, carrying out the laws of the state, the orders of Florida courts, and the ordinances of the Board of County Commissioners. The Sheriff is the chief law enforcement and correctional officer of the county.

Sheriff Al Nienhuis was initially appointed as the Sheriff of Hernando County by the Governor in January of 2011. He was then elected by the people of Hernando County in 2012, and remains accountable to them.