

Hernando County Sheriff's Office

P.O. BOX 10070 - BROOKSVILLE, FL 34603-0070 FAX 352 796-0493 PHONE 352 754-6830

Media Release

From: Denise M. Moloney

Community/Media Relations Manager, 352-797-3609

Re: Sheriff Announces Financial Audit Results

Date: February 10, 2020

Sheriff Al Nienhuis is pleased to announce that an annual third-party financial audit for fiscal year ending September 30, 2019 has again found the office to be in compliance with government auditing standards. The report comes from Purvis Gray & Company, the external financial auditors for Hernando County.

The audit represents the dedication and determination of the men and women of the Hernando County Sheriff's Office. "This marks the tenth consecutive year that this administration has received a clean audit," said Sheriff Nienhuis. "The taxpayers of Hernando County can take comfort in knowing that independent reviews again confirm my commitment to fiscal responsibility."

The auditors also conduct random examinations and tests of internal controls. These tests review compliance with certain provisions of laws, regulations, contracts and grant agreements, and other matters.

We are happy to report, as in years past, the audit did not identify any deficiencies in the internal controls of the Hernando County Sheriff's Office.

A copy of the audit can be found on the Sheriff's Office website under the Reports tab.

The Office of Sheriff:

The Office of the Sheriff is established by the Florida Constitution. As a constitutional officer, the Sheriff has the exclusive authority to administer his or her agency and is responsible for preserving the peace throughout the entire county, carrying out the laws of the state, the orders of Florida courts, and the ordinances of the Board of County Commissioners. The Sheriff is the chief law enforcement and correctional officer of the county.

Sheriff Al Nienhuis was initially appointed as the Sheriff of Hernando County by the Governor in January of 2011. He was then elected by the people of Hernando County in 2012, ran unopposed in 2016, and remains accountable to them.